Ajax-loader

Darcey Bell könyvei a rukkolán


Darcey Bell - A ​Simple Favor
_She’s ​your best friend._ _She knows all your secrets._ _That’s why she’s so dangerous._ A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of _Gone Girl_ and _The Girl on the Train_. It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time. But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over. Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems. _A Simple Favor_ is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page. "Riveting and brilliantly structured, _A Simple Favor_ is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family." — Kimberly McCreight, _New York Times_ bestselling author

Darcey Bell - Egy ​kis szívesség
Egy ​kis szívességgel kezdődik – hétköznapi szívességgel, amelyet az anyukák szoktak egymásnak tenni. Amikor az elbűvölő Emily megkéri Stephanie-t, hogy hozza el a fiát az iskolából tanítás után, Stephanie boldogan igent mond. Emilynek olyan élete van, amelyet sok nő irigyel. Ő a tökéletes anya, aki káprázatos karriert futott be egy híres manhattani divatcégnél. Stephanie özvegyasszony, aki magányosan él iskola-előkészítőbe járó fiával Connecticut peremvárosában, és a naponta vezetett blogjában keres kapcsolatokat és megerősítést. Stephanie azt hiszi, Emily lesz az új bizalmas barátnője, és megdöbben, amikor Emily váratlanul és nyomtalanul eltűnik, figyelmeztetés nélkül magára hagyva a fiát és a férjét. Stephanie tudja, hogy valami szörnyűség történt. Képtelen távol tartani magát a gyászoló családtól és hamarosan viszonyba keveredik Seannal, Emily jóképű, tartózkodó, brit férjével. De nem tudja figyelmen kívül hagyni a nyugtalanító érzést, hogy a férfi nem őszinte Emily eltűnésével kapcsolatban. Lehetséges, hogy Stephanie csak képzelődik? Mennyire ismerte „legjobb” barátnőjét? Stephanie kezdi megérteni, hogy semmi – sem a barátság, sem a szerelem, de még egy hétköznapi szívesség – sem olyan egyszerű, mint amilyennek tűnik. DARCEY BELL 1981-ben született, és egy nyugat-iowai tejgazdaságban nevelkedett. Óvónőként dolgozik Chicagóban. Az _Egy kis szívesség_ az első regénye.

Kollekciók