Ajax-loader

Darcey Bell könyvei a rukkolán


Darcey Bell - Egy ​kis szívesség
Egy ​kis szívességgel kezdődik – hétköznapi szívességgel, amelyet az anyukák szoktak egymásnak tenni. Amikor az elbűvölő Emily megkéri Stephanie-t, hogy hozza el a fiát az iskolából tanítás után, Stephanie boldogan igent mond. Emilynek olyan élete van, amelyet sok nő irigyel. Ő a tökéletes anya, aki káprázatos karriert futott be egy híres manhattani divatcégnél. Stephanie özvegyasszony, aki magányosan él iskola-előkészítőbe járó fiával Connecticut peremvárosában, és a naponta vezetett blogjában keres kapcsolatokat és megerősítést. Stephanie azt hiszi, Emily lesz az új bizalmas barátnője, és megdöbben, amikor Emily váratlanul és nyomtalanul eltűnik, figyelmeztetés nélkül magára hagyva a fiát és a férjét. Stephanie tudja, hogy valami szörnyűség történt. Képtelen távol tartani magát a gyászoló családtól és hamarosan viszonyba keveredik Seannal, Emily jóképű, tartózkodó, brit férjével. De nem tudja figyelmen kívül hagyni a nyugtalanító érzést, hogy a férfi nem őszinte Emily eltűnésével kapcsolatban. Lehetséges, hogy Stephanie csak képzelődik? Mennyire ismerte „legjobb” barátnőjét? Stephanie kezdi megérteni, hogy semmi – sem a barátság, sem a szerelem, de még egy hétköznapi szívesség – sem olyan egyszerű, mint amilyennek tűnik. DARCEY BELL 1981-ben született, és egy nyugat-iowai tejgazdaságban nevelkedett. Óvónőként dolgozik Chicagóban. Az _Egy kis szívesség_ az első regénye.

Darcey Bell - A ​Simple Favor
_She’s ​your best friend._ _She knows all your secrets._ _That’s why she’s so dangerous._ A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of _Gone Girl_ and _The Girl on the Train_. It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time. But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over. Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems. _A Simple Favor_ is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page. "Riveting and brilliantly structured, _A Simple Favor_ is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family." — Kimberly McCreight, _New York Times_ bestselling author

Darcey Bell - O ​simplă favoare
Totul ​începe cu o simplă favoare, un lucru pe care mamele îl fac una pentru alta în mod obișnuit. Când prietena sa cea mai bună, Emily, o roagă pe Stephanie să-l ia pe băiețelul ei, Nicky, de la școală, după terminarea orelor, ea e bucuroasă să o ajute. Dar Emily nu se mai întoarce. Nu răspunde la telefon și la mesaje. Stephanie simte că s-a întâmplat ceva îngrozitor – Emily nu l-ar părăsi niciodată pe Nicky. Îngrozită, ea apelează la cititoarele blogului ei pentru ajutor și îi oferă lui Sean, chipeșul și reticentul soț al lui Emily, tot sprijinul său. Apoi, ea și Sean primesc o veste șocantă: Emily e moartă. Dar coșmarul nu s-a sfârșit, pentru că, în curând, Stephanie începe să-și dea seama că nimic nu este atât de simplu precum pare. O simplă favoare este un roman de suspans psihologic surprinzător, plin de trădări și răsturnări de situație, secrete și revelații, dragoste și loialitate, crimă și răzbunare. Darcey Bell construiește cu măiestrie tensiunea într-o poveste tulburătoare, care vă va ține cu sufletul la gură până la ultima pagină. _„Un thriller intens, captivant și uimitor, cu un final neprevăzut și surprinzător.“_ New York Journal of Books _„Romanul de debut al lui Darcey Bell este plin de secrete, minciuni și manipulări. Dacă v a plăcut Fata dispărută, această carte va fi cu siguranță pe gustul vostru.“_ Library Journal

Darcey Bell - Something ​She's Not Telling Us
Charlotte ​has everything in life that she ever could have hoped for: a doting, artistic husband, a small-but-thriving flower shop, and her sweet, smart five-year-old daughter, Daisy. Her relationship with her mother might be strained, but the distance between them helps. And her younger brother Rocco may have horrible taste in women, but when he introduces his new girlfriend to Charlotte and her family, they are cautiously optimistic that she could be The One. Daisy seems to love Ruth, and she can’t be any worse than the klepto Rocco brought home the last time. At least, that’s what Charlotte keeps telling herself. But as Rocco and Ruth’s relationship becomes more serious, Ruth’s apparent obsession with Daisy grows more obvious. Then Daisy is kidnapped, and Charlotte is convinced there’s only one person who could have taken her. Ruth has never had much, but now she’s finally on the verge of having everything she’s ever dreamed of. A stable job at a start-up company, a rakish, handsome boyfriend with whom she falls more in love with every day—and a chance at the happy family she’s always wanted, adorable niece included. The only obstacle standing in her way is her boyfriend’s sister Charlotte, whose attitude swerves between politely cold and outright hostile. Rebuffing Ruth’s every attempt to build a friendship with her and Daisy, Charlotte watches over her daughter with a desperate protectiveness that sends chills down Ruth’s spine. Ruth knows that Charlotte has a deeply-buried secret, the only question is: what? A surprise outing with Daisy could be the key to finding out, and Ruth knows she must take the chance while she has it—for everyone’s sake. As the two women follow each other down a chilling rabbit hole, unearthing winding paths of deceit, lies, and trauma, a family and a future will be completely—and irrevocably—shattered.

Kollekciók