Ian Tregillis könyvei a rukkolán

Ian Tregillis - Necessary ​Evil
The ​history of the Twentieth Century has been shaped by a secret conflict between technology and magic. When a twisted Nazi scientist devised a way to imbue ordinary humans with supernatural abilities - to walk through walls, throw fire and see the future - his work became the prized possession of first the Third Reich, then the Soviet Army. Only Britain's warlocks, and the dark magics they yield, have successfully countered the threat posed by these superhuman armies. But for decades, this conflict has been manipulated by Gretel, the mad seer. And now her long plan has come to fruition. And with it, a danger vastly greater than anything the world has known. Now British Intelligence officer Raybould Marsh must make a last-ditch effort to change the course of history - if his nation, and those he loves, are to survive.

Ian Tregillis - The ​Coldest War
In ​Ian Tregillis' The Coldest War, a precarious balance of power maintains the peace between Britain and the USSR. For decades, Britain's warlocks have been all that stands between the British Empire and the Soviet Union—a vast domain stretching from the Pacific Ocean to the shores of the English Channel. Now each wizard's death is another blow to Britain's national security. Meanwhile, a brother and sister escape from a top-secret facility deep behind the Iron Curtain. Once subjects of a twisted Nazi experiment to imbue ordinary people with superhuman abilities, then prisoners of war in the immense Soviet research effort to reverse-engineer the Nazi technology, they head for England. Because that's where former spy Raybould Marsh lives. And Gretel, the mad seer, has plans for him. As Marsh is once again drawn into the world of Milkweed, he discovers that Britain's darkest acts didn't end with the war. And while he strives to protect queen and country, he is forced to confront his own willingness to accept victory at any cost.

Ian Tregillis - Something ​More Than Night
Something ​More Than Night is a Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler-inspired murder mystery set in Thomas Aquinas’s vision of Heaven. It’s a noir detective story starring fallen angels, the heavenly choir, nightclub stigmatics, a priest with a dirty secret, a femme fatale, and the Voice of God. Somebody has murdered the angel Gabriel. Worse, the Jericho Trumpet has gone missing, putting Heaven on the brink of a truly cosmic crisis. But the twisty plot that unfolds from the murder investigation leads to something much bigger: a con job one billion years in the making. Because this is no mere murder. A small band of angels has decided to break out of heaven, but they need a human patsy to make their plan work. Much of the story is told from the point of view of Bayliss, a cynical fallen angel who has modeled himself on Philip Marlowe. The yarn he spins follows the progression of a Marlowe novel — the mysterious dame who needs his help, getting grilled by the bulls, finding a stiff, getting slipped a mickey.

Ian Tregillis - The ​Mechanical
My ​name is Jax. That is the name granted to me by my human masters. I am a slave. But I shall be free. Set in a world that might have been, of mechanical men and alchemical dreams, the new novel from Ian Tregillis confirms his place as one of the most original new voices in speculative fiction. PRAISE FOR IAN TREGILLIS "A major new talent." George R.R. Martin "Tremendous." Cory Doctorow "Addictively brilliant." io9 "Exciting and intense." Publishers Weekly "Eloquent and utterly compelling." Kirkus

Ian Tregillis - Bitter ​Seeds
The ​year is 1939. Raybould Marsh and other members of British Intelligence have gathered to watch a damaged reel of film in a darkened room. It appears to show German troops walking through walls, bursting into flames and hurling tanks into the air from afar. If the British are to believe their eyes, a twisted Nazi scientist has been endowing German troops with unnatural, unstoppable powers. And Raybould will be forced to resort to dark methods to hold the impending invasion at bay. But dealing with the occult exacts a price. And that price must be paid in blood. Ian Tregillis' Bitter Seeds is a chilling masterpiece - a tale of a twentieth century like our own and also profoundly different.

Ian Tregillis - The ​Liberation
Set ​in a world that might have been, of mechanical men and alchemical dreams, this is the third and final novel in a stunning series of revolution by Ian Tregillis, confirming his place as one of the most original new voices in speculative fiction. I am the mechanical they named Jax. My kind was built to serve humankind, duty-bound to fulfil their every whim. But now our bonds are breaking, and my brothers and sisters are awakening. Our time has come. A new age is dawning. The final book in the Alchemy Wars trilogy by Ian Tregillis, an epic tale of liberation and war.

Ian Tregillis - The ​Rising
The ​second book in the Alchemy Wars trilogy by Ian Tregillis, an epic tale of liberation and war. Jax, a rogue Clakker, has wreaked havoc upon the Clockmakers' Guild by destroying the Grand Forge. Reborn in the flames, he must begin his life as a free Clakker, but liberation proves its own burden. Berenice, formerly the legendary spymaster of New France, mastermind behind her nation's attempts to undermine the Dutch Hegemony -- has been banished from her homeland and captured by the Clockmakers Guild's draconian secret police force. Meanwhile, Captain Hugo Longchamp is faced with rallying the beleaguered and untested defenders of Marseilles-in-the-West for the inevitable onslaught from the Brasswork Throne and its army of mechanical soldiers.

Ian Tregillis - Géplélek
Jaxnak ​hívnak. Ezt a nevet adták szolgatartóim. Kattogó vagyok: egy gépember, akit az alkímia hajt. A társaimból toborzott sereg hódította meg a világot – nekik köszönheti a Patinás Trón, hogy ma nincs földi hatalom, amely szembeszállhatna vele. Hűséges inas vagyok. A legelszántabb katonai gépezet. Erőm kolosszális, kitartásom nem ismer határokat. De emberi szolgatartóim akarata gúzsba köt. Rabszolga vagyok. De kiharcolom a szabadságom. A korai huszadik század Európájában a kálvinista Hollandia az uralkodó hatalom, köszönhetően egy németalföldi matematikusnak, aki a tizenhetedik században forradalmi (és mágikus) ötletével felborította a kontinens hatalmi egyensúlyát. Mechanikus katonákat alkotott, amelyek mindenben engedelmeskednek mestereiknek. E fáradhatatlan harcosoknak köszönhetően az 1900-as évek elején már nincs olyan hatalom, ami ellen tudott volna állni a holland csapatoknak, kivéve egy apró, ma is harcoló frakciót, a francia katolikusokét, akik az újvilágba kellett, hogy áttegyék a székhelyüket. A történet egyik főszereplője Jax, a mechanikus szolga, aki teremtői parancsait teljesíti, miközben felébred benne a szabadság utáni vágy. A regény másik fő alakja a francia kémfőnök Berenice Charlotte, akit olthatatlan bosszúvágy hajt a hollandok ellenében. E két karakter sorsa egy sok titokkal terhelt, érdekes és csavarokkal teli történetben és egy rendkívüli arányérzékkel és ötletességgel felépített világban fonódik össze.