Ajax-loader

Rosalie Ham könyvei a rukkolán


Rosalie Ham - The ​Dressmaker
After ​twenty years spent mastering the art of dressmaking at couture houses in Paris, Myrtle “Tilly” Dunnage returns to the small Australian town she was banished from as a child. She plans only to check on her ailing mother and leave. But Tilly decides to stay, and though she is still an outcast, her lush, exquisite dresses prove irresistible to the prim women of Dungatar. Through her fashion business, her friendship with Sergeant Farrat—the town’s only policeman, who harbors an unusual passion for fabrics—and a budding romance with Teddy, the local football star whose family is almost as reviled as hers, she finds a measure of grudging acceptance. But as her dresses begin to arouse competition and envy in town, causing old resentments to surface, it becomes clear that Tilly’s mind is set on a darker design: exacting revenge on those who wronged her, in the most spectacular fashion. Ham writes beautifully of fabrics and fashion, and paints a vivid portrait of the loyalties and betrayals of a small Australian town. This novel, for readers of The Other Typist and Burial Rights, will have you eyeing both high-fashion magazines and your neighbors in a new light. Rosalie Ham is the author of three novels. She was born and raised in Jerilderie, New South Wales and now lives in Melbourne, Australia. Rosalie holds a master of arts in creative writing and teaches literature.

Rosalie Ham - A ​ruhakészítő
A ​szerelem, a gyűlölet és az haute couture felejthetetlen regénye Még csak tízéves volt, amikor a kis Myrtle "Tilly" Dunnage-ot elüldözték szülővárosából. Húsz év elteltével, miután a legnevesebb párizsi divatházaknál kitanulta a ruhatervező és -készítő szakma minden csínját-bínját, hazatér. Eredetileg csak egy rövid látogatást tervezett, ám aztán úgy dönt, otthon marad, hogy gondoskodhasson beteg anyjáról. Ám Dungatar, ez a poros, isten háta mögötti ausztrál városka nem felejt: itt nem csak a bűnök, az emlékek és a vádaskodások árnyéka is messzire nyúlik. Tilly szinte számkivetettként tengeti a napjait, egyedül Farrat őrmester, a ruha- és divatbolond rendőr hajlandó szóba állni vele - és mindenki nagy döbbenetére Teddy, az ünnepelt futballsztár. A lány saját tervezésű, extravagáns ruhái eleinte csak irigységet váltanak ki a nőkből, ám aztán megtörik a jég: Tilly egyre több megrendelést kap, és a Dungatarba tévedő utazó nem győz csodálkozni a legfrissebb divatkreációkban páváskodó kisvárosi háziasszonyok láttán. Egy tragikus baleset azonban ismét Tilly ellen fordítja a lakókat, aki ezt az igazságtalanságot már nem tűrheti, és elhatározza, hogy bosszút áll... A történet mozifilmen is megtekinthető Kate Winslet, Judy Davis, Liam Hemsworth és Hugo Weaving főszereplésével.