Ajax-loader

Sarah Pekkanen könyvei a rukkolán


Sarah Pekkanen - These ​Girls
In ​her third novel, internationally bestselling author Sarah Pekkanen examines the lives of three women working and living together in New York City and shows that family secrets may shape us all, but it’s the rich, complicated layers of friendship that can save us. Cate, Renee, and Abby have come to New York for very different reasons, and in a bustling city of millions, they are linked together through circumstance and chance. Cate has just been named the features editor of Gloss, a high-end lifestyle magazine. It’s a professional coup, but her new job comes with more complications than Cate ever anticipated. Cate’s roommate Renee will do anything to nab the plum job of beauty editor at Gloss. But snide comments about Renee’s weight send her into an emotional tailspin. Soon she is taking black market diet pills—despite the racing heartbeat and trembling hands that signal she's heading for real danger. Then there’s Abby, whom they take in as a third roommate. Once a joyful graduate student working as a nanny part time, she abruptly fled a seemingly happy life in the D.C. suburbs. No one knows what shattered Abby—or why she left everything she once loved behind. Pekkanen’s most compelling, true-to-life novel yet tells the story of three very different women as they navigate the complications of careers and love—and find the lifeline they need in each other. From Library Journal: "VERDICT Because Pekkanen’s characters are sympathetic and familiar, readers are likely to identify with aspects of each pro tagonist. Fans of Jennifer Weiner. Sarah Dessen, Liza Palmer, and Emily Giffin will strongly appreciate this smart novel by a rising star in women’s fiction.

Greer Hendricks - Sarah Pekkanen - You ​Are Not Alone
You ​probably know someone like Shay Miller. She wants to find love, but it eludes her. She wants to be fulfilled, but her job is a dead end. She wants to belong, but her life is so isolated. You probably don’t know anyone like the Moore sisters. They have an unbreakable circle of friends. They live the most glamorous life. They always get what they desire. Shay thinks she wants their life. But what they really want is hers.

Greer Hendricks - Sarah Pekkanen - The ​Wife Between Us
When ​you read this book, you will make many assumptions. You will assume you are reading about a jealous wife. You will assume she is obsessed with her replacement – a woman who is about to enter a new marriage with the man she loves. You will assume you know the anatomy of the relationships. Assume nothing. Read between the lies. Twisted and deliciously chilling, The Wife Between Us deftly explores the hidden complexities of marriage and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love. A clever thriller with masterful twists.” – Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author of The Kept Woman "A fiendishly clever romantic thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing." –Anita Shreve, New York Times bestselling author of The Stars are Fire

Sarah Pekkanen - Skipping ​a Beat
Julia ​and Michael meet in high school in their small, poverty-stricken West Virginia hometown. Both products of difficult childhoods - Julia’s father is a compulsive gambler and Michael’s mother abandoned his family when he was a young boy – they find a sense of safety and mutual understanding in each other. Shortly after graduation they flee West Virginia to start afresh. Now thirty-somethings, they are living a rarified life in their multi-million-dollar,Washington D.C. home. From the outside it all looks perfect – Julia has become a highly sought-after party planner, while Michael has launched a wildly successful flavored water company that he sold for $70 million. But one day Michael stands up at the head of the table in his company's boardroom - then silently crashes to the floor. More than four minutes later, a portable defibrillator manages to jump-start his heart. Yet what happened to Michael during those lost minutes forever changes him. Money is meaningless to him now - and he wants to give it all away to charity. A prenuptial agreement that Julia insisted upon back when Michael's company was still struggling means she has no claim to his fortune, and now she must decide: should she walk away from the man she once adored, but who truthfully became a stranger to her long before his near-death experience - or should she give in to her husband's pleas for a second chance and a promise of a poorer but happier life?

Greer Hendricks - Sarah Pekkanen - A ​tökéletes alany
18 ​és 32 év közötti hölgyeket keresünk, akik részt vennének egy kiváló New York-i pszichiáter vezetésével lefolytatandó, etikával és morállal kapcsolatos felmérésben. A résztvevőket bőkezűen megjutalmazzuk. Garantáljuk a névtelenséget. További információért, kérjük, telefonáljon! Az állandó pénzszűkében lévő 28 éves Jessica Farris számára egy hazugságot is megér, hogy bekerüljön az 500 dollárral kecsegtető pszichológiai kutatásba. A titokzatos és karizmatikus dr. Shields lehetőséget lát benne, így a kísérlet gyakorlati síkon folytatódik - természetesen magasabb fizetségért cserébe. Jessicának hamarosan azt is megszabják, milyen ruhákat hordjon, hogyan viselkedjen, és lassacskán azt sem tudja, hogy mi a valóság és mi a manipulatív kísérlet. A paranoia fogságában vergődő lány nyomozásba kezd, hogy kiderítse a pszichiáternő valódi célját és a titokzatos 5. számú alany sorsát. Az ...és én téged el nem hagylak íróinak új regénye letehetetlenül fordulatos pszichológiai thriller az emberi kapcsolatok mélyén rejlő sötétségről.

Greer Hendricks - Sarah Pekkanen - An ​Anonymous Girl
The ​next novel of psychological suspense and obsession from the authors of the blockbuster bestseller The Wife Between Us Seeking women ages 18–32 to participate in a study on ethics and morality. Generous compensation. Anonymity guaranteed. When Jessica Farris signs up for a psychology study conducted by the mysterious Dr. Shields, she thinks all she’ll have to do is answer a few questions, collect her money, and leave. Question #1: Could you tell a lie without feeling guilt? But as the questions grow more and more intense and invasive and the sessions become outings where Jess is told what to wear and how to act, she begins to feel as though Dr. Shields may know what she’s thinking…and what she’s hiding. Question #2: Have you ever deeply hurt someone you care about? As Jess’s paranoia grows, it becomes clear that she can no longer trust what in her life is real, and what is one of Dr. Shields’ manipulative experiments. Caught in a web of deceit and jealousy, Jess quickly learns that some obsessions can be deadly. Question #3: Should a punishment always fit the crime? From the authors of the blockbuster bestseller The Wife Between Us comes an electrifying new novel about doubt, passion, and just how much you can trust someone. Praise for The Wife Between Us: "A fiendishly smart cat-and-mouse thriller" ―New York Times Book Review "[A] seamless thriller that will keep readers on their toes to the very end...Readers will enjoy the dizzying back-and-forth as they attempt to figure out just who to root for and as the suspense ratchets up to one hell of a conclusion." ―Booklist

Sarah Pekkanen - Things ​You Won’t Say
In ​this timely and provocative novel, internationally bestselling author Sarah Pekkanen takes us inside a family in crisis and a marriage on the brink after a tragic shooting. How far would you go to save your family? Every morning, as her husband Mike straps on his SIG Sauer and pulls on his heavy Magnum boots, Jamie Anderson tenses up. Then comes the call she has always dreaded: There’s been a shooting at police headquarters. Mike isn’t hurt, but his long-time partner is grievously injured. As weeks pass and her husband’s insomnia and disconnectedness mount, Jamie realizes he is an invisible casualty of the attack. Then the phone rings again. Another shooting—but this time Mike has pulled the trigger. But the shooting does more than just alter Jamie’s world. It’s about to change everything for two other women. Christie Simmons, Mike’s flamboyant ex, sees the tragedy as an opportunity for a second chance with Mike. And Jamie’s younger sister, Lou, must face her own losses to help the big sister who raised her. As the press descends and public cries of police brutality swell, Jamie tries desperately to hold together her family, no matter what it takes. In her characteristic exploration of true-to-life relationships, Sarah Pekkanen has written a complex, compelling, and openhearted novel—her best yet.

Greer Hendricks - Sarah Pekkanen - ...és ​én téged el nem hagylak
Ez ​a regény két nőről szól. Az egyikük a húszas éveiben jár, New Yorkban él, rajong a munkájáért, a barátaiért és a vőlegényéért, aki nemsokára oltár elé vezeti. Még előtte az élet és a jól megérdemelt boldogság egy szerető férfi oldalán. A másikuk kora harmincas, elvált nő, akinek nem maradt semmi vesztenivalója. Férje elhagyta, az előkelő társaság, amelynek régen tagja volt, elfordult tőle, a munkahelyén mindennap konfliktusok és megaláztatások sora várja. Alkoholproblémákkal küzd, és már csak egyetlen dolog foglalkoztatja: hogy bosszút álljon azon, aki tönkretette az életét. E két nőnek sokkal több köze van egymáshoz, mint hinnénk. És nem csupán azért, mert ugyanazt a férfit szeretik. Az ...És én téged el nem hagylak hátborzongatóan izgalmas regény megannyi váratlan fordulattal, amely rafináltan tárja elénk a házasság komplexitását, és kegyetlen őszinteséggel mutat rá azokra az igazságokra, amelyeket ugyan sokszor látni vélünk a szemünk sarkából, de képtelenek vagyunk szembenézni velük.

Sarah Pekkanen - Catching ​Air
From ​the internationally bestselling author of four books, including The Opposite of Me, a vibrant, compulsively readable novel about two married couples who pursue a dream to open a bed-and-breakfast in small-town Vermont. In her previous works including The Best of Us, "rising star" (Library Journal) Sarah Pekkanen captivated readers by penning "refreshingly introspective, sharply realistic, and tenderly humorous" novels (Booklist) that had readers "flying through the pages" (Hoda Kotb, Today show). Now, in Catching Air, Pekkanen turns an unflinching eye on the tangled relationships of two pairs of thirty-somethings. A chance to run a B&B in snowy, remote Vermont—it’s an offer Kira Danner can’t resist after six soul-crushing years of working as a lawyer in Florida. As Kira and her husband, Peter, step into a brand new life, she quells her fears about living with the B&B’s co-owners: Peter’s sexy, irresponsible brother Rand, and Rand’s wife, Alyssa…who is essentially a stranger. For her part, Alyssa sees taking over the B&B as the latest in a string of adventures. Plus, a quiet place might help her recover from the news that she can’t bear children. But the idyllic town proves to be anything but serene: Within weeks, the sisters-in-law are scrambling to prepare for their first big booking—a winter wedding—and soon a shy, mysterious woman comes to work for them. Dawn Zukoski is hiding something; that much is clear. But what the sisters-in-law don't realize is that Dawn is also hiding from someone… Relatable and dynamic, Catching Air delves deeply into the vital relationships that give shape to women’s lives.

Kollekciók