Cat Winters könyvei a rukkolán

Cat Winters - The ​Cure for Dreaming
Olivia ​Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in Oregon, and Olivia’s father, concerned that she’s headed for trouble, convinces a stage mesmerist to try to hypnotize the rebellion out of her. But the hypnotist, an intriguing young man named Henri Reverie, gives her a terrible gift instead: she’s able to see people’s true natures, manifesting as visions of darkness and goodness, while also unable to speak her true thoughts out loud. These supernatural challenges only make Olivia more determined to speak her mind, and so she’s drawn into a dangerous relationship with the hypnotist and his mysterious motives, all while secretly fighting for the rights of women. Winters breathes new life into history once again with an atmospheric, vividly real story, including archival photos and art from the period throughout.

Cat Winters - In ​the Shadow of Blackbirds
In ​1918, the world seems on the verge of apocalypse. Americans roam the streets in gauze masks to ward off the deadly Spanish influenza, and the government ships young men to the front lines of a brutal war, creating an atmosphere of fear and confusion. Sixteen-year-old Mary Shelley Black watches as desperate mourners flock to séances and spirit photographers for comfort, but she herself has never believed in ghosts. During her bleakest moment, however, she’s forced to rethink her entire way of looking at life and death, for her first love—a boy who died in battle—returns in spirit form. But what does he want from her? Featuring haunting archival early-twentieth-century photographs, this is a tense, romantic story set in a past that is eerily like our own time.

Cat Winters - Fekete ​madarak árnyékában
1918-ban ​a világ az apokalipszis felé száguld. Félelem és zűrzavar uralkodik, ráadásul a világháború árnyékában halálos járvány tombol. A 16 éves Mary Shelley Black gyötrődve figyeli, ahogy a kétségbeesett gyászolók összesereglenek a spiritiszta szeánszokon és a szellemfényképészeknél. Mary Shelley maga soha nem hitt a szellemekben. A kilátástalanság percei azonban arra kényszerítik, hogy átgondolja addigi felfogását az életről és a halálról; első szerelme ugyanis – aki a fronton halt meg – szellemalakban tér vissza hozzá… „Winters mesterien megírt debütáló könyve hatásosan festi le a háborús idők szerelmi kapcsolatait, az 1918-as spanyolnátha-járványt és a korszakot jellemző spirituális divatot – magával ragadó szerelmi történet izgalmas misztikummal keverve.”

Cat Winters - The ​Uninvited
From ​the award-winning author of In the Shadow of Blackbirds comes a stunning new novel—a masterfully crafted story of love, loss, and second chances. Set during the fear and panic of the Great Influenza of 1918, The Uninvited is part gothic ghost-story, part psychological thriller, perfect for those who loved The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield or The Vanishing by Wendy Webb. Twenty-five year old Ivy Rowan rises from her bed after being struck by the flu, only to discover the world has been torn apart in just a few short days. But Ivy’s life-long gift—or curse—remains. For she sees the uninvited ones—ghosts of loved ones who appear to her, unasked, unwelcomed, for they always herald impending death. On that October evening in 1918 she sees the spirit of her grandmother, rocking in her mother’s chair. An hour later, she learns her younger brother and father have killed a young German out of retaliation for the death of Ivy’s older brother Billy in the Great War. Horrified, she leaves home, to discover the flu has caused utter panic and the rules governing society have broken down. Ivy is drawn into this new world of jazz, passion, and freedom, where people live for the day, because they could be stricken by nightfall. But as her ‘uninvited guests’ begin to appear to her more often, she knows her life will be torn apart once more, but Ivy has no inkling of the other-worldly revelations about to unfold.